China Accommodation for Student

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

China Accommodation for Student

I'm planning to travel China by myself from Christmas for about a month. Basically work my way down the country from Beijing (flying there from here on the 24th), visiting the major sites, Shanghai, Xi'an, Nanjing, etc., back to HK.

My question is, how should I go about finding/booking accomm (and transport)? I won't have a strict itinerary, nor strict list of destinations, so I'll be mainly playing it by ear.

Same goes for transport. Are trains & buses my best option? And can I buy tickets for most places on the day?

I'm just a student, so I'll be looking for reasonably priced places. Should I stick to hotels/motels/hostels? My main concern is cleanliness believe it or not. I'd hate to come back to HK with bed bugs or something (touch wood!).

Any recommendations or books or advice or whatever is appreciated. I'm doing this largely on a whim!

Cheers.

For transport, just use elong or ctrip. Flights are a lot more convenient, and are pretty cheap. Beijing-Xian should cost around 200RMB.

They do hotels as well.

Get yourself a copy of the Lonely Planet guidebook on China. It's really bulky but absolutely invaluable in terms of the details it gives you - not just about the history of all the cultural sites you're likely to vist, but also about the cheapest places to stay, the best places to shop and eat on a budget, and how to get buses and trains to take you where you need to go.

If you don't speak any Mandarin then get a Lonely Planet Mandarin phrase book, too. When I first landed in China a few years back I had with me a Rough Guide phrase book and the Lonely Planet one. The Lonely Planet version was infinitely more useful.