Orient Thai Airlines?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Cool Orient Thai Airlines?

Hey guys, I am not experienced with flying within Asia, so wanted to ask a question. I am going to thailand for a weekend and my friend has booked my flights from HK to bKK for me, on orient thai airlines. my friend said its an awful airline with old planes, now im scared!

anyone had any experience

have u seen the series "LOST".

tex

do a google on it for safety record! peace of mind is worth more than the savings IMO.

Agreed - I wouldn't touch it with a bargepole.

The China Airlines 747 that fell out of the sky between Taipei and HK a couple of years ago was on its last flight before being handed over to Orient Thai.

Their reliability is terrible (often see them cancelled or delayed on the screens when I am at CLK). The planes are very old - I don't know any major airline that still flies 747-100 & -200 series for passengers. And by all reports they are extremely tatty inside.

When CX (or TG for that matter) has many flights each day and you can get tickets at published fares for less than HK$2000 roundtrip (and less through specials) is it really worth whatever you are saving?

Orient Thai safety

Hi there,

maybe you should check this page:
    http://www.airlinequality.com/Forum/orient_thai.htm
    Best and worse about orient Thai (and all the other airlines by the way).
    Anyway I traveled on these old school orient thai planes round trip Hong Kong - Phuket for the chinese new year and it was definitely all right. On the way there the plane departed and arrived on time, no major thing, actually they are so ghetto and broke that I think they try harder with the little they have, and was kind of nice.
    On the way back, something like 10 minutes late, but again, nothing special.
    Yes the plane wasn't brand new, but it managed to fly us safely so I think that's what it's supposed to do.