Big 4 experiences...

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Smile Big 4 experiences...

Hi Everyone,

I would like everyone's opinion or personal experiences on what it is like working for a big 4 in HK.
    - Culture
    - English v Cantonese v Mandarin
    - Job prospects in HK
    - Expected salary

I'm currently contemplating a move to HK from Australia, i have been working for about 5 years in a big 4 firm and would like to continue even if i moved to HK.

Is there anyone that works in a big 4, i'd really like to trade experiences etc. Thanks

Ooh interesting.

I'm ex big 4 in u.k and put it this way they pay you peanuts over here unless you get a transfer from your current company.

They expect you to have some decent knowledge of cantonese as not all there staff 'speak english' this is what a senior HR person of a big 4 told me at interview stage.

Working culture. Well if working 60 hours a week plus floats your boat then sure go for it.

i worked for a big4 in HK for one year, like 8 years ago, personally, it was not my cup of tea. I have never again worked in an accounting/audit job.

Quote Originally Posted by mustlovecats:
    i worked for a big4 in HK for one year, like 8 years ago, personally, it was not my cup of tea. I have never again worked in an accounting/audit job.

Hehe yep I don't think I'd ever go back to big 4 either.

I would say it all depends at which level. In most countries working for a big 4 at an entry level position isn't a great job (you supposedly learn a lot but pay isn't great for the number of hours you put in). The cantonese requirement is more due to the fact that for entry level position you most of the time face client's employees taht do not necessarly speak english. At higher level the cantonese ins't always required. )