Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By PDLM
  • 1 Post By zerocred

Telecom Jobs in HK or China?

Closed Thread

Telecom Jobs in HK or China?

Hey everyone. This one has got me stumped, so I decided to post here.

Here's my work background and situation. I'm an electronics engineer in wireless/mobile telecoms (cellphone) on the technical side, with over eight years of experience. My background includes experience as a switch/core network engineer for deployment/commissioning, Network Optimization and also work in location-based services (GSM) using GPS satellites. I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Elec. Engineering Technology with 3.5 GPS (Cum Laude).

I am a USA citizen. I am well-traveled and have been to most asian countries except Korea and Vietnam. To increase my contacts, I have been going to the usual networking meetings, such as Chambers of Commerce, Oriented etc. My last job was usa-based and ended in October 2009 (laid off, due to lack of work). I have been in Hong Kong since late March 2010, although this is my third time to Hong Kong and I have some friends here.

Since February 2010, I have done the following in an effort to find a telecom job, but with no luck at all.

1. Registered with the usual three employment agencies in Hong Kong. They have been zero help.
    2. List my resume with local HK telecom companies NTT, CSL, PCCW.
    3. List myself with Huawei.
    4. List myself on all the big asian websites (51job.com, jobsdb, recruitonline etc)
    5. List myself with six japanese agencies.
    6. List with the one big Taiwan website
    7. List myself with about ten other websites.
    8. Have gone to seven networking HK events in the last three months and networked as much as possible with the connections that they knew that were technical or IT related etc.

Other than a single job interview in Singapore in March, I have had absolutely NO luck and NO calls or emails at all since March. NO further interviews of any kind.