IT in banking

Closed Thread

IT in banking

HI,
    After doing some research, I notice that a lot of IT job oppertunities in Hong Kong are in the banking industry. This makes perfect sence as HK is obviousely one of the important financial centers in the world. However, having some experiences with "unsuccessful" job huntings in NYC, I can't resist but to ask the following questions:
    1. In NYC, someone without derivitive/trading/fixed income experiences is not likely to get a job on wall street. I wondered why, because software is software, as important as domain knowledge is, I didn't see the "functional" knowledge of financial sector any more diffcult than say, supply chain or coporate accounting. The wisdom I later learned, is that wall street is so high paced and stressful, software engineer are required to have the same mental readiness too. Newbies just won't make it. Is this the same thing in Hong Kong too?
    2. I have 10 years of experiences in software, and one of them was in a mortgage company. I also had many exposures to insurance companies in my consulting days. I majored in Economics and still can prove Black-Schole (ok, used to ...) in calculus. Does any of the above improve my chances?
    3. How is the outlook of IT jobs in other industries? I would imagine as a gateway to the huge Chinese market, HK would need a lot of supply chain applications? That happens to be my strongest area ....
    4. Technically I am a J2EE guy. 7+ years in Java and am at architect level. UML and rational, the whole 9 yard. I am doing very well in the states :-) , but does any of these mean anything to HK market?

Thanks in advance for any advices!

hmmm...

i'd think alot of possibilities.
    the front office systems require quite deeply technical support.
    BS is the easy part. most banks are going into BGM type of multi factor models. so the IT jobs are more into implementation of the calibration and DE from market into system.