Like Tree1Likes

UK vs. US law degrees

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

UK vs. US law degrees

I am currently a student in the US and want to go back to Hong Kong for work to reunite with my family. I can either go to the UK for an undergraduate law degree or to the US for a graduate law degree. Would a UK degree (Oxbridge, LSE, UCL, KCL) or a US degree (from a top 20 law school) open more career opportunities for me? Are there differences in salaries/benefits depending on what degree I obtain?

I'm not a lawyer, but since the HK legal system is based on the UK one then intuitively a UK degree should open a wider range of possibilities, including all aspect of local law, rather than just international corporate stuff that would seem to be the main use here for a US lawyer.

But if you are sufficiently confident (arrogant) about your own ability as to be sure you could just walk into an Oxbridge degree then it shouldn't really matter - if you're right then you're good enough to get a fancy job regardless of what degree you get.

Quote Originally Posted by PDLM:

But if you are sufficiently confident (arrogant) about your own ability as to be sure you could just walk into an Oxbridge degree then it shouldn't really matter - if you're right then you're good enough to get a fancy job regardless of what degree you get.
    Remember they would be an overseas student, the much higher fees tend to open doors at the moment. When I did my masters it was 20 UK students, now the same course is made up of 30 Chinese students.

Even at Oxbridge? That would surprise me somewhat.

Quote Originally Posted by PDLM:
    Even at Oxbridge? That would surprise me somewhat.