Strategy/Management Consulting Jobs in Hong Kong

Closed Thread

Strategy/Management Consulting Jobs in Hong Kong

Hi all,

I am a student from an oversea university in Canada and am interested in working in the management consulting field in Hong Kong (Bain, McKinsey, BCG etc.)

I am wondering if anyone can fill me in on how the recruiting process works for management consulting firms? I heard that they have target schools, and wonder what they are. Also, what is the best way for me, an oversea student, to apply to these firms and how are my chances of getting in?

Thanks for any help!

Quote Originally Posted by grixon:
    Hi all,

I am a student from an oversea university in Canada and am interested in working in the management consulting field in Hong Kong (Bain, McKinsey, BCG etc.)

I am wondering if anyone can fill me in on how the recruiting process works for management consulting firms? I heard that they have target schools, and wonder what they are. Also, what is the best way for me, an oversea student, to apply to these firms and how are my chances of getting in?

Thanks for any help!
    If your university is one of the 'target schools' these firms will generally come and hold presentations about themselves/careers with them. At the minimum they will advertise and have information (including information on how to apply) with the career services office.
    If you are not at one of the target schools, you can apply (in descending order of preference) through referral, using the online system (surely you have looked at the web-sites of these firms), contacting HR, and/or contacting somebody else ('cold call' style) at these firms.

You will be generally asked about your location preference right at the start/as soon as your profile gets picked up, but it does not make much of a difference early on in the process - initial interviews are mostly done by the recruitment teams for the respective schools and/or local offices.