Like Tree9Likes

My life story and suggestions for moving to Hong Kong to teach English

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

My life story and suggestions for moving to Hong Kong to teach English

Hello everyone.

I've been browsing this board and am very thankful to have this great site as a resource. I'm looking for advice/suggestions to help clarify some things for me. Here's a quick bio...I'm ethnically Chinese, born in Hong Kong and raised in America. My Cantonese if fluent, and I'm semi-fluent in Mandarin. I graduated from a university in San Diego, CA with a degree in business--emphasis in finance. I've been working in investment research as an equity analyst for a number of years (I even have my CFA certification), but am now looking for a career switch into education to become a teacher--most likely a kindergarten teacher, as I adore the little ones. I don't "hate" my current job; I just want a career that's more fulfilling, meaningful, and one I can excel in. Some additional details are that I'm an American citizen, and have a permanent HK ID card in addition to a Chinese ID card.

I do have experience "teaching" through training others at my current and previous jobs, in addition to small-group teaching/tutoring in writing and math for high school and college students. Furthermore, I'm currently enrolled in 2 childhood development classes (for ages 0-9) in curriculum planning for language arts/science and music/movement.