Work in HK / Fresh graduate with very low Chinese

Closed Thread

Work in HK / Fresh graduate with very low Chinese

I'm going to just be honest here and say I'm a little bit confused at the moment. I've discovered that I am eligible for residency in Hong Kong. My background is mid 20's some travel and work experience in lower level roles of a fairly mixed nature.

I'm currently at university and have chosen elective subjects rather than a minor and a major of International Management. The way I have chosen to structure my degree is by placing the subjects required for a major all in the final year to enable me to make changes if required up until the last minute.

I would be happy on a fairly low salary to begin with, providing there was room for progression in the future. That means if I was on 15,000 HKD living in a shoe box for a year or two, but was learning skills that would mean that career progression was possible in the future, then I would take that opportunity. I am not interested in, nor feel qualified to teach English or anything of that nature.

I have the opportunity to adjust my major and still graduate at the end of next year, but I'm unsure of the need to do so and if so, to what? I've got the usual Business/Commerce majors open to me. Employment Relations, HR, Logistics and Supply Chain Management, Management, Marketing,Sustainable Enterprise, Economics, Finance, Financial Planning or my current major of International Management.

I am currently studying Mandarin and Cantonese, but I'm not exactly a master of languages. In addition to my limited Chinese skills, I am able to understand some conversational Japanese both written and spoken, but my ability to reply is to a much lower standard. My Japanese level could be brought up to an intermediate level after 3-6 months of study I would estimate.