Like Tree4Likes

How much should my salary be?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

How much should my salary be?

Hello! I am planning to apply for a job in Hong Kong. I am foreign (from South East Asia) and I want to know how I should answer if my future employer asks me how much will be my expected salary.

I am 24 years old with a Masters degree in Guidance and Counseling (graduating early this year). I am fluent in English and do not know Chinese (the language). I went to graduate school right after graduating, that's why I have no past work experiences, but I have good grades back in college and graduate school.

I am planning to send my resume and application letters to universities, education centers, and even some counseling/ rehab institutions. I am not picky with job, I am even willing to work as an assitant/trainee/etc. Yes, I just submit my resume without applying for a specific position. If a company/school has something to offer, then I will gladly take it.

So my question is, if asked, how much should be my expected salary? Some of the mentioned possible employers will ask this one. Please give me any insights or opinions. I have no idea about how much should an individual be paid in working in HK. Thank you in advance.

Do you have the right to work in Hong Kong?

If not then with no work experience it would be very hard for an employer to make a case to Immigration to grant you a visa. And, therefore, the employer would have to feel you offer something extraordinary for them even to bother trying to make the case.

Quote Originally Posted by sara_j:
    Yes, I just submit my resume without applying for a specific position. If a company/school has something to offer, then I will gladly take it.
    To anyone in recruitment, there is truly nothing more annoying than those applications!