Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By gilleshk

Teaching posts

Closed Thread

Teaching posts

Hi, I'm just starting to look into teaching posts and would really appreciate where to start. My husband has already secured a good job and I would obviously want to go with him. I do however want to work and don't want to 'damage' my teaching career by being out of the classroom for too long. Its a big deal for me as I have a permanent teaching post in the UK but we really want the experience of living in HK for a couple of years at least. I have a degree and PGCE and have nearly 8 years of teaching experience under my belt. I would be happy to supply teach and then would hope to get a longer contract eventually. His job has only happened recently so I realise I might have missed some opportunities for this September. What are peoples experiences of teaching in HK - am I crazy to give up my secure job??

I don't know much about supply work here. Others could advise you more about that aspect. There are also language schools that hire on part time basis, which will get you into the swing of things.

But with your experience and qualifications, you may want to look at full time employment, either at international schools, which advertise in the papers (I think ESF have their own recruiting process), or on the government NET scheme.

With international schools, you would be teaching under similar conditions as the UK, ie, a full and varied workload and most schools follow the IB curriculum.

On the NET scheme, especially in primary schools, you would only have about a third of the workload that you do in the UK and you solely teach English language or Literacy. The bonus is, you generally work with much nicer, better behaved kids. Of course, there are other problems that offset the good points (the way things are done here, isolation, sometimes you feel that you are not a real teacher and lose independence.) Both pay similar salaries.