HK Residency ??

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

HK Residency ??

Hi there,

I have been lving in Hong Kong for 5 years now. Is it true that if i am here for another 2 years (7 years total) that i will then become a permanent resident?
    My visa is a dependence visa...
    Please let me know!

Thanks!

YES . Good luck

Quote Originally Posted by tiffanymarks:
    Hi there,

I have been lving in Hong Kong for 5 years now. Is it true that if i am here for another 2 years (7 years total) that i will then become a permanent resident?
    My visa is a dependence visa...
    Please let me know!

Thanks!

take another example:
    If I am independent ViSA holder

What if after 5 years, we leave the country for half a year and then come back again, the residency period would be resetting from 0?
    Or can be counting continuously?

what is an INdependent visa?

i've never heard of it.

if you CONTINUOUSLY reside in hk for a period not less than 7 years (and can prove it), then you can apply for permanent residency.

there are some exceptions: if you are away at university and return when you have graduated, they do not discount your time in school. if you are away at boarding school, i would assume the same rules apply. if you have business trips throughout the year, they are not discounted. but if your visa expires and then you go away for 6 months, then return again, you reset the clock to 0:00

Thanks Carang, got it.
    It's 'working visa' instead of 'independent visa'.

If you go away for school, do you need to maintain your employment visa in HK?

Example:

Hk for 2 years, visa expires
    School for 4 years
    Back to Hk, new visa 1 year

Does that equal 7?