think i am being sacked

think i am being sacked

i've been working at a company for six months and noticed today that they are advertising for my job, leading me to conclude that I am about to be sacked. what are my rights in this situation? am i entitled to severance pay (have heard it is two months...) if you are sacked do you usually leave immediately, or are you required to work a notice period - or does it vary? any advice gratefully received! thanks

Unhappy

Welcome to Hong Kong, and Communist China. You can be sacked without any notice, and as to severance pay, what does it state in your contract? That is all you are entitled too, what is in the contract. Best look for another job, or head back to your own country. I know for a fact, some workers who have gone to work their first day, and let go at noon. There is no job security in Hong Kong.

What a load of nonsense that this is because its communist china? Lets not forget the land of the free and unionized work force where it costs $25 per hour to get someone to lift anything above 5lbs on convention floor.

What is more communist? Unionized workforces which cause employers to move production overseas or an environment where you can freely hire and fire whoever you want, because well .. it might make sense to your business (shocking isnt it?).

HCH - First, the whole "show up in the morning and leave at noon" does not apply to you, as you've been there for six months and hopefully you're not in the probationary period.

More information on laws affecting your possible termination can be found here:

http://www.labour.gov.hk/eng/public/...seGuide/08.pdf

HK employee's have about the same employee rights as they do in Australia, New Zealand, the UK or any former/ pressent day Commonwealth occupied city. For the exception of annual leave entitlement, but even thats starting to wither away, since the new IR laws went in favour of the employer back in Aus. So its pretty even keel, here.