Finding a Finance job in Hong Kong

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Finding a Finance job in Hong Kong

Hi all,

I am currently in Australia and about to move to Hong Kong in July (tickets are booked) so that I can be closer to my aging family. As a result I have been looking for work in Hong Kong for the last couple of months without much success.

I am a trader/portfolio manager in the fixed income space, and have been working in the industry for about 6 years already. I was also born in Hong Kong so am a Hong Kong citizen. In terms of language, I speak English, Cantonese and Mandarin fluently. I also have 2 degrees in Commerce and currently studying Masters as well.

Of some of the feedback that I have been getting from some headhunters, they are saying that most recruiters don't even bother with looking at your resume the moment they see that you're not physically in Hong Kong.

In all honesty, I not saying I'm the best person for every job, but at the same time, I don't think that I am so unqualified that I am not even getting a call back (or being short listed) for some of the roles I am applying for.

Since that there are obviously much more people on this forum who have gone through the same process and experience, I want to seek out some honest opinion and advice as to whether it really is my location that is making the difference or also what are the chances of me getting a job once I am in Hong Kong in July (if I haven't gotten one by then.)

And if there are any other advice about moving to Hong Kong and job search it will be extremely appreciated.

Thanks heaps!

I think with your experience, your PR status and your spoken languages that you should not have too many problems securing a job ONCE you are in Hong Kong.

Yes location makes a big difference and regardless of how good you think you are you usually won't be considered for any roles till you're physically here.

Start networking through LinkedIn etc if you haven't done so already.