Employment Advice (Finance)

Closed Thread

Employment Advice (Finance)

Hi All,

I just wanted to get some advice from you guys around my current scenario, my job prospects in HK and perhaps things I should focus on during the next two years.

To give you all a detailed background, I am currently 26 and am an ex-honkie who moved to Australia when I was young. As such, I am fairly fluent in both Mandarian and Cantonese (unfortunately though, I am unable to write chinese - which is probably an area of focus for me in the next two years). In terms of education, I studied Accounting & Finance at a fairly average university in Australia but managed to score very high marks. On top of that, I have also finished my Chartered Accounting course (again with fairly high marks - a couple of merits in subjects) and have passed two levels of the Chartered Financial Analyst Program (still awaiting my results for level three - fingers crossed!!).

I currently work in Corporate Finance at an international mid-tier accounting firm. Whilst I am a manager in that division, I have only really 2 years of true Corporate Finance experience as I worked as some research analyst in a tax division beforehand.