Would chance of getting a job higher if I physically move to hong kong?

Would chance of getting a job higher if I physically move to hong kong?

I am a software engineer with 3 yrs experience and hold a master degree. I've been looking for a job online for couple of months since I got the QMAS visa. But I haven't gotten any response from any recruiters except for auto reply emails.
    Some ppl say that I will get better chance if I physically move to hong kong. But I just don't see anything I can change by doing that except for a local address and phone number on my resume.

Is there really work opportunity for me in hong kong? What can I do to improve my chance if I physically move here?

Thanks in advance.

Yes, you should get more action if you move here. Companies will be keener to interview, you can network and keep your ear to the ground better when you are physically here. Recruiters (like anyone) will recall people they have met more easily than an emailed CV when thinking who to place into new openings.

Recruiters/candidates will generally ignore candidates who are applying from overseas.

There are plenty of locally-based candidates who can be interviewed in person instead of over the phone, so why bother with phone interviews?

Quote Originally Posted by TheBrit:
    Yes, you should get more action if you move here. Companies will be keener to interview, you can network and keep your ear to the ground better when you are physically here. Recruiters (like anyone) will recall people they have met more easily than an emailed CV when thinking who to place into new openings.
    Thanks TheBrit. Here comes to the hard question: how to start networking when I absolutely know nobody in Hong Kong?
    When I was hunting for my first job in the US, I network with alumni and classmates. But now I surely can't get the same resource.
    So how can I make recruiters get to know me other than sending out resumes? Is there any kind of meetup for professionals?