Ideas for 17 year old

Ideas for 17 year old

Hi
    Our 17 1/2 year old son has just joined us from Australia, and has applied to go to college in the States in the Fall. He's looking for some kind of a job for a few months. If anyone has an idea, I'd love to hear about it. He was told by one employer that he was too young to teach English, although no post-high school qualifications were required, and he's super with kids, and did really well at school. He has virtually no Chinese.

All ideas appreciated

Hmmm...

Hi,

I am an international student studying in Hong Kong, call me Michael if you'd like. I turn 17 in May and I understand your situation quite a lot. I got a job last summer at a company that sells medical equipment to hospitals and clinics, however, after a week of working there, I didn't fit into the work environment due to the lack of Cantonese I could speak.

Finding a job here that only requires English as a language medium is quite difficult. Bars and clubs are certainly out of the question for us as it is illegal, however, I believe some restaurants like Fat Angelo's, and Krispy Kreme are willing to hire teenagers, especially during the daytimes (at lunch hour) where most of the youth community are at school.

Otherwise, you could try to help out at an international primary school. Beacon Hill, Kowloon Junior and Clearwater Bay school are all ESF schools and they might be able to find some sort of assistant job suitable for your son.

Other than that, I'm not sure what else there is. English-medium jobs are really hard to find here, and unless you've got qualifications, you can't really do much besides waitering and assisting.

If all fails, maybe going to do some charity work would be good, so you don't waste your time here. I go to Crossroads International (Crossroads Foundation - Home) and I enjoy it very much there when I go there every week.