Hurrah. Another Teaching Jobs thread.(sorry)

Closed Thread

Hurrah. Another Teaching Jobs thread.(sorry)

Just after a bit of advice on teaching jobs.

I have been applying for teaching jobs for almost a year and I cannot even get people reply to my e-mails let alone give me a job. I have a BA, an MSc a Celta and good A levels. I even have 10 months teaching experience though only 5 of that was ESL. I dont have a visa which I suspect is a problem.

I have sent at least 60 job applications and only had one response. Various posters have talked about getting jobs after jumping straight of the plane with only an online TEFL and a cheery smile. I am not especially ugly and I dont have any infectious diseases so what am I doing wrong?

I have tried the NET scheme but no luck.

If anyone has any other suggestions for jobs that would be useful.

What you're missing is an inside connection. I am still an undergraduate and found myself with an interview the week after I landed for a summer day-camp position. Location was far (in Tuen Mun), so I was on the bus a total of 3 hours per day just for transportation, but all transportation was covered and the pay was quite solid.

When I left, they sat me down and offered me a full-time position, but I had to decline as I was heading back to Canada to finish up the year. With my experience with the company, I would say they are more desperate than not with finding qualified applicants. They seem to prefer western-accent english and seem to be constantly hiring.

I don't know what you're doing wrong, but you're quite qualified. What I would do is find an agent who can represent you and find yourself work. They will do what they can to find you a proper position as they would benefit from your higher salary.

Good luck mate!

Quote Originally Posted by gunsandpickups:
    I dont have a visa which I suspect is a problem.
    You hit the nail on the head there.