Graphic Designer looking to work in HK

Closed Thread

Graphic Designer looking to work in HK

Hi, Im a 23yr old Graphic Design student from Australia starting my final year of study and would like to work abroad for a year. I am interested to know what the job prospects are like in Hong Kong for me. (only speak english)

Thanks

Where did you graduate? I studied Graphic Art out of Chisholm in Dandenong (Melbourne). I'm just freelancing alongside other activities in Hong Kong. Maybe you should study a TESL course to provide you with backup for when design work is hard to find.

Graphic design in Hong Kong

I work in a related business (advertising) and from what I can see there is limited opportunity in Graphic Design - especially if you can't read/write Mandarin or Cantonese (for typesetting).

It also doesn't pay as well as other creative jobs in Hong Kong (like interactive).

That said, I think the boom in China will necessitate more design work to be done - but I suspect you would need to brush up your reading/writing of Chinese

Search for design jobs on monster.com.hk and see what comes up.

Thanks for the valuable information guys
    much appreciated

too true

Quote Originally Posted by kiffguy:
    That said, I think the boom in China will necessitate more design work to be done - but I suspect you would need to brush up your reading/writing of Chinese
    It is all true. My wife helps me with Chinese typesetting - I have a few projects and am becoming quite the typographer with Chinese (still need my wife and other friends to proof the text of course). What you said about mainland, too true - more out there, I find it easier to find clients in Shenzhen then Hong Kong.

Quote Originally Posted by dean-dzai:
    It is all true. My wife helps me with Chinese typesetting - I have a few projects and am becoming quite the typographer with Chinese ...
    Hong Kong is dead. The only way you can land a job here is if you meet ALL of the following: