Like Tree4Likes

employment requirements in HK

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

employment requirements in HK

My wife and I are considering moving from Australia to Hong Kong to live. My wife is a Hong Kong girl and her parents are aging. We are both in our mid 30's. My wife has been in Australia for about 12 years.

I have no university qualifications. I am a State Sales Manager/Account Manager in Australia for a large dairy food manufacturer and have been in the food service industry for about 10 years in total now. I am really concerned about my job prospects in HK given that I have no university qualifications. It seems, by looking at all the recruitment pages in HK; that all employers require a tertiary education. Ideally I would be looking for a similar sales/account management role, or something similar; in HK.

Can anyone give me some advice on weather I would have any chance of gaining employment in HK? It's really worrying me. Interested in hearing from other people who do not have a university education but have been succussful in getting employment in HK.

Many thanks.

Hi Aaron, I'm no expert in HK having only been here for a year, but my impression is employment opportunities here are mostly in finance and legal. Hence you could consider account management in a financial institution (probably stressful). Try looking up job boards and/or recruiters such as Robert Walters, Morgan Mckinley etc.

Another thing to consider is that a fairly high income is needed to maintain a good quality of life in HK. This is different to Australia where the minimum standard of living is already good. In HK, you will be forgoing a lot of physical space, and the access to the outdoors and to sports. So look up some salary surveys, and rental prices (which is the main expenditure) to understand the financial side of things.