Like Tree2Likes

somewhat-law-related jobs for a recent graduate?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

somewhat-law-related jobs for a recent graduate?

I graduated a few months ago with a JD from a top-10 US law school. I had planned to work for a big law firm (eventually if not immediately in Hong Kong or elsewhere in Greater China). But I failed to get a summer associate position while in law school, and it is now practically impossible for me to ever get a permanent associate position at one of these firms. Given that I am (1) interested in corporate law and not litigation and (2) interested in working in Hong Kong/Mainland China/Taiwan/Singapore rather than in the states, I'd like to avoid the usual "fall back" options for biglaw rejects of working for the assistant district attorney, public defender, legal aid, local government, or small law firm. I don't mind not working as a lawyer, but I do mind being stuck in the US forever.

...so my question for the board: Given that few big law firms would ever want to touch me, what kind of somewhat-law-related jobs in Hong Kong (or elsewhere in the region) could I realistically apply for? could I try consulting? or compliance for one of the big banks? or some sort of import-export business that takes advantage of my bilingual background? I am at a loss on where to start my job search.

Two important questions you need to answer before anyone can even start to give constructive advice:
    1. Do you have the right to work in HK, or would you require visa sponsorship?
    2. Do you speak/ read/ write Chinese (Mandarin or Cantonese)?