Like Tree11Likes

Teaching English - Best schools to start

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Teaching English - Best schools to start

I'm planning on moving to HK within the next few months to teach English. As of now I am a recent university graduate in the process of getting a TEFL certification. My plan is to teach English full-time in a primary or secondary school and tutor on the side. However, I am getting mixed reviews from research and talking to English teachers on where to go. Some people recommend the government schools over the private & ESF schools because they're more likely to provide housing assistance in addition to a work visa. Others say the government schools are extremely rigorous and inflexible, and it's best to work in a private school where the schedule is a bit less demanding. Overall, which schools are best to apply to for housing accommodation and other benefits?

ummm.... you need to do a lot more research. what is your degree in? if it's an education degree, you could apply for the NET scheme. if not, you could still apply, but without experience you are unlikely to get a job.

if you get on with the gov't NET scheme, you will get a housing allowance.

if you go for a private tutorial centre, you will not get anything beyond your salary. but you don't have any experience, so it is likely this is the only type of place that would hire you.

not only that, but without experience, it could be difficult for immigration to grant a work visa.

Cara has it nailed.

For a realistic chance at a "real" school job (as opposed to teaching at a language centre), you want a BEd / PGCE and QTS as well as at least 2 years classroom experience. There have been people who've got a placement missing one of those, but they are few and far between.