Master of International Studies - would English tuition be settling, or my best bet?

Closed Thread

Cool Master of International Studies - would English tuition be settling, or my best bet?

Hey guys,

This is my first message on the forum, but I have already done a lot of reading around, particularly on the many posts on native english teaching jobs.

I would be extremely appreciative of any advice or feedback anyone may offer.

I'm a 26 year old Australian (female) with a Bachelor of International Relations/Asian studies and a Master of International Studies (peace and conflict resolution more precisely), both from Australian universities. I graduated with the university medal from my bachelor degree, and received between a distinction/high distinction GPA for my master's (I mention this only with the intention of giving some context to my employability). I've worked in a variety of jobs here in Australia, including in sales (for an international NGO), administration/customer service, and in a couple of volunteer roles in the area of community development/social enterprise/with refugee communities.

After graduating from uni back in 2010, I moved to Singapore to work as a research analyst and later senior analyst (bascially, a writer on development issues facing Southeast/East Asia) for a policy-oriented research centre at a university there. After 18 months, with the chance to publish some of my own writing, I got tired of the low pay (a non-profit centre) and began working for an Australian-owned English tuition centre, teaching 3-12 yr olds. I spent around 10 months with them before heading back to Australia (so around 2 years in Sing all up).