Working Visa for Senior Brand Manager (AUS)

Closed Thread

Working Visa for Senior Brand Manager (AUS)

Hi all,

My partner has been working in Hong Kong since November on a secondment from Australia. I have been living here with him for the last month as we are on our way to live and work in London.

However, he has now been offered a full time role here and before accepting, we would like to understand the possibilities of obtaining a working visa for myself. I have a bachelor degree in Commerce and before leaving Australia in January, held a Senior Brand Manager role at a large brand driven FMCG company where I was employed for the last 4.5 years. I do not speak Chinese

What is the best route I can take in an attempt to obtain a Hong Kong working Visa? Should I approach some recruitment companies in order to secure sponsorship from an employer? Any success with the Skilled Migrant Visa?

Any advice would be much appreciated!!

If you're under 30 then a Working Holiday Visa would be easy to get and let you do short-term roles to let you get going and do the networking you would need to find something more permanent. If you haven't got some specific skill or experience that a local is unlikely to have then it could take a while to find something for which an employer would be able to make a case to Immigration for you.

The only "Skilled Migrant Visa" is the "Quality Migrant Admission Scheme", which is aimed at Nobel Prize / Oscar / Olympic winning type people rather than "Senior Brand Managers" or Telephone Sanitisers, so forget about that.

The other simple way, assuming you are female, is to marry your boyfriend - very easy to do here and gives you a dependant visa which allows you to work without further paperwork.