Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By elcwu
  • 1 Post By usehername

Expected Salary

Closed Thread

Expected Salary

Hi,

I am applying to a few schools here in Hong Kong (Mostly English Independent DSS schools at the moment as they're more lenient it seems on the amount of experience required), but many of them are asking for an expected salary. I'm not quite sure how much to expect...

I have a BA in Psychology and a BEd in elementary from the University of Alberta. I also have a TESOL cert. I am a fresh graduate though, so I don't have any working experience as a teacher...how much should I expect for a salary?

(Side info: I'm chinese, but born and raised in Canada so I am also fluent in Cantonese and Mandarin. Haha I'm aware that that could be a disadvantage...)

It's hard right now to find teaching jobs in Alberta, so gaining experience at home first isn't really an option.

Any help or any other suggestions are most welcome! Thanks.

Last edited by elcwu; 11-05-2013 at 12:00 PM.
    Titus likes this.

that could be a disadvantage...

interesting point, why? related to the other heated discussion?

Generally I never put expected salary in an application. If they ask in the interview just put the question back to them: what do you normally pay for this position?

No teaching experience with kids may make it virtually impossible to get a (decent) job. You might be better off doing a year or 2 in a language centre to get experience with kids, the local exams etc.

Last edited by usehername; 12-05-2013 at 12:40 PM.
    Titus likes this.

I agree that turning the question back to a potential employer is a useful tactic.