Like Tree9Likes

Need career advice. Please read and provide comments.

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Wink Need career advice. Please read and provide comments.

Hi I am looking for a job in HK but I would need some advice. Please give me some help on how I should approach job hunting in Hong Kong and what type of jobs I should look for.

A little information about myself, I was born in Hong Kong and moved to the States when I was 11. Got my Bachelor’s degree in Business Economic and worked for the US Government as a low level on site manager for 4 years, supervised 12-18 people on some of the projects. I went to graduate school afterward and obtained an MBA with focus on Finance. I got my MBA from an average Cal State school, the main reason I got the degree is because I received enough financial aid that it was pretty much free and I want to be a professor sometime down the road.

During the time I was in graduate school I started a fitness company, pretty much self-employ only employed few part-time trainers. Besides all the typical fitness related activities, I did all marketing, payroll and contract negotiations (with US cities officials) myself. Some of the tasks include given corporate business classes on fitness and personal counseling. I sold the company along with the client base before I left the states.

I have been investing in the US stock market for the past 9 years, however I have not much of an idea about the Hong Kong and the Chinese exchange. I still read up on a lot of US business related news and somewhat active in the stock market. Since I like the topic so much I am sure I can start looking into the Asia markets.

Also I would say my strong point is public speaking especially in English. I can speak and read Cantonese but I have a difficult time to write it. I can understand Mandarin pretty well (dated a few girls from Taiwan before) but I can’t really speak it much.