Graduate, wage question

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Graduate, wage question

Hello guys, I wanted to ask a question about wage being proper for a person like me. So, originally I'm Russian, this June I'm graduating in Mainland China, my major is Chinese language and literature, my Mandarin is quite fluent, as I've been living there for almost four years. My English is very good too, close to being like my first language. I have some experience in freelance translating (from/to Russian/English/Mandarin), my target is to look for a job that requires Russian speaker. How much do you think I should state my expected salary?
    Would really appreciate your answers.

Range for graduate salaries in HK is very wide. I know graduates who started on 11k per month and graduates who started on 30k. The 30k ones are typically in banking; the 11k ones in accounting and you would fit somewhere in between.... targeting teens seems appropriate to me.

Quote Originally Posted by HK_Katherine:
    Range for graduate salaries in HK is very wide. I know graduates who started on 11k per month and graduates who started on 30k. The 30k ones are typically in banking; the 11k ones in accounting and you would fit somewhere in between.... targeting teens seems appropriate to me.
    Thank you, the thing is that as graduate I don't have that much experience, but I still have language and some other skills, I was a bit scared that I'm asking for way to low salary, and was not sure will I be able to survive on this money.