Job Discrimination

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Job Discrimination

I'm an Australian born chinese and I have been applying for a few jobs teaching english in Hong Kong, as I will be living there shortly. I have a degree and a tefl diploma. However, when I applied for a job I got an email from a prospective employer who told me they were interested in my application. When he found out that I was asian (my surname) he told me that even though I had an Aussie accent it didn't matter because it was the fact that I was asian that stopped him from employing me. He also told me that it was going to be very difficult to become employed because of my 'face'. Has this happened to anyone else? And is it really that difficult for Western born asians to become employed as Teachers of english?

Unfortunately, it is sort of true. Most of these "english schools" are really not professional institutions and are essentially pimping the white face to the guilible lower class who have been trained to belive that asians don't speak good english.

I'd suggest looking at schools slightly higher up in the food chain.

discrimination

Quote Originally Posted by KnowItAll:
    Unfortunately, it is sort of true. Most of these "english schools" are really not professional institutions and are essentially pimping the white face to the guilible lower class who have been trained to belive that asians don't speak good english.

I'd suggest looking at schools slightly higher up in the food chain.