Like Tree6Likes

Lost and need guidance on intern/career prospects

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Lost and need guidance on intern/career prospects

Hi all

I'm a bit lost in life and I'm looking to see what type of summer job (and future career) I can get in Hong Kong.

I am studying Law and International Relations at a top Australian university. I speak fluent English, Cantonese and conversational Mandarin. I can read Chinese without problem and I am brushing up on my writing skills.

I am a Hong Kong PR but I have very few connections there so I have trouble finding a law internship. Aside from student leadership experience at the university, my working experience is limited to the fast food industry and being a volunteer first responder.

I would like to ask what type of summer job or internship I can get for a month spanning the middle of June to the middle of July. And in two years time, what time of long term employment in Hong Kong I can look into besides being a lawyer?

I am looking to gain experience more than anything. If the opportunity allows me to build my leadership, communication and working-under-pressure skills, I am prepared to intern for nothing though even a token few thousand dollars to cover food and transport would be preferable.

My insecurities are that I am older than most university students at 24 and I have very little work experience. Yet I am aware that when I eventually graduate I will be almost 27 and I do not intend to practice as a lawyer at this stage. I feel instead of trying things out and I need to quickly get settled into a job that will pay reasonably well with clear progression prospects once I graduate. Partly due to some extenuating circumstances, my grades, currently at a credit average, are not as good as I feel I could have achieved.

I look forward to your advice and thank you all!