Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By wtbhotia
  • 1 Post By chingleutsch

Wanting to get out of teaching

Closed Thread

Wanting to get out of teaching

Any English teachers out there decide to switch careers? I've been teaching here in HK, but I'm looking to get back into a regular job. Eventually, probably in five years or so, I plan to go back to the U.S., and I will need a job and experience to be able to work there since I won't teach.

I've heard it's tough to get a job outside of teaching unless it's an internal transfer. I have a degree in public relations, but most of the jobs I've come across require fluency in English and Chinese. My former company has an office and large presence here, but no one I contact ever gets back to me and none of my former colleagues can get a response either.

Anyone ever changed careers from teaching? What advice would you give for doing so?

All the people that I've heard switching careers from teaching had to learn Cantonese. However, once I've met an American woman, she worked for some local company/firm and she didn't speak Cantonese. She said she did writing for them. I don't know what exactly she wrote but maybe you could look into something like this, where written English is needed.

I'm learning Cantonese slowly, but no where near fluent. I can generally understand what's being communicated, but it's hard to respond more than short sentences or a few words. But I have considered looking for an English writing job. I used to have to write all the time, so that's always been pretty easy. Also considered headhunter positions, as I once was a volunteer recruiter for a nonprofit mentor service.

Sarcasm - because beating the crap out of people is illegal

Are you going to need visa sponsorship? (Double checking something...)

Quote Originally Posted by Claire ex-ax:
    Are you going to need visa sponsorship? (Double checking something...)
    Yes, my working visa ends with my contract in July.