Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By er2
  • 1 Post By imparanoic

Graduated from the States. Finding job in HK. Impossible?

Closed Thread

Graduated from the States. Finding job in HK. Impossible?

Firstly, I'm of Chinese descent. Non-HK Citizen. I graduated from New York University late last year and am still searching for jobs where I'm at.

I am wondering if it's possible to look for jobs in HK instead without citizenship

Can you speak / write Cantonese or Mandarin?

yes at native level

Possible - yes. Easy - no. Most importantly, you left out key information - language (as jmbf asked - you speak both Cantonese and Mandarin at native level?), the kind of job you want, and if you have any kind of support network (relatives etc).
    In a nutshell - if you are looking for a technical job (engineering, programming, etc) then there is in some areas in HK a shortage of candidates that allows companies to sponsor you - but you won't like the level of pay unless you can crash with relatives or such. Alternatively, if you have a stellar degree and maybe some internships, you could try your luck with the major banks/consulting firms (I know that these have been able to sponsor fresh grads, though how they do this - no clue). It would be vastly easier if you apply with two years of work experience in the US, though.

chris_yang22 likes this.

Getting a visa is not that easy, need to find a company that is willing to sponsor you

chris_yang22 likes this.

First you need to know how to search for a job. This is a skill in itself.

Once you find a job you need a visa. If the company knows how to apply for the visa and what to say then it isn't a problem. If they are trying to write long explanation letters as to why they need to hire you then likely you will have trouble.