Like Tree4Likes

Language Barriers for Recruitment Consultants in Hong Kong

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Talking Language Barriers for Recruitment Consultants in Hong Kong

Hi everyone, I'm an expat from the UK and new here.

I was wondering if anyone can give me some advice regarding language barriers in Hong Kong.

I'm a Recruitment Consultant, in the Technology space, and looking to move to Hong Kong this July.

I'm just a little concerned about the level of English in Hong Kong, because this job requires a lot of communication. It's basically 100% of what the job is about.

I'm currently in Malaysia, and English isn't perfect here, but I'm able to operate without any real problems.

For my next move, I'm aiming for Singapore or Hong Kong. I know the English level in Singapore will be a lot better, but I feel that I would prefer Hong Kong as a place to live and work.

I'm a 27 years old and single, and my situation would apparently be better matched to Hong Kong, as Singapore is more family orientated.

Would be interested to hear your thoughts. Especially from any western Non-Chinese speaking expats in the Recruitment industry.

Thanks for your help in advance.

Chris

@cprosper might be able to provide some insight.

So far most of the recruitment agents I've met were native Chinese speakers, although with very good (almost native) English. I know at least one English guy (agent) as well who lives and works here. I think if banks and international companies are your client base, English is enough and lots of people will speak it well.

Day to day the majority of locals speak passable to very good English. Some don't of course, and the farther you get from Central the fewer people speak English.

There's quite a lot of expat recruitment advisors out here in HK, Some transferred from the London office of the usual multinationals such as Hays, Hudson etc etc.

So it shouldn't really be an issue but it's still worth learning the basics in the meantime.