Like Tree8Likes

Entry level teaching/salary questions...

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Lightbulb Entry level teaching/salary questions...

Hey everyone, just got a few questions. Sorry I do not have much input as i'm new in Hong Kong.

1) Whats the current going rate now? say for 40 working hours/week and you have to travel to different locations.

2) For Bonus, is it weird that it does not state any clause but just depending on performances?

3) Anyone getting weekend allowances/travel allowances stated in their contracts?

4) Also, for expats are employers suppose to provide medical insurance or do we get that ourselves? I've looked on the immigration website under GEP and it says remuneration package should include income, medical and other fringe benefits.

5) For probation period (say 3 months), through my understanding if you quit during probation period there is no penalty and no need for notice? But after probation period you either give 1 months notice with no penalty or agree to pay the required period of notice.

6) Are employers allowed to request an earlier start for training or work when the visa application is still pending? I'm pretty sure that's illegal but just want to be sure if that's a norm here.

7) Any leads on TEFL/CELTA courses would be much appreciated! Current courses in HK as I've seen cost 21k-25k for 1 month.
    Have already looked at The Edge, TEFL Hong Kong, English for Asia and Train the Teacher.

Thanks!

Hello Moonbearz,

I will try and answer your questions based on my own experience and in order.