Like Tree9Likes

Working in HK without Chinese language

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Question Working in HK without Chinese language

Hi fellas,

I'm a MSc Business Management student at HKBU, and will be graduated in 2018, I also planned to have my career in HK after being graduated.

In order to know more about HK job requirements, I browsed several job postings, however, they required knowledge either in Cantonese or Mandarin, and I know none of them. Well I'm actually a Chinese who was born and raised in Indonesia, so I only understand English, and Indonesian.

With that kind of background, can I find a graduate job in HK?

Quote Originally Posted by louisuchiha
    I'm a MSc Business Management student at HKBU
    I think you should be able to join an internship program in the banking sector.
    I do not know if HKBU is accepted by all banks, and if banks recruit in this particular field right now. With that said, in an internship program you're supposed to rotate within a few positions anyway so perhaps not a big problem. At my previous shops, our business managers have rarely been locals.

If you are prepared to be mobile around Asia, then you could try the Graduate Training Schemes offered by the big conglomerates, especially the ones with Western origins such as Jardines and Swire, who are more likely to overlook the need for Chinese language. I know that Jardines is always on the looking for Bahasa speakers as they have big interests in Indonesia and Malaysia.

z754103 and gigglinggal like this.

Quote Originally Posted by jrkob
    I think you should be able to join an internship program in the banking sector.
    I do not know if HKBU is accepted by all banks, and if banks recruit in this particular field right now. With that said, in an internship program you're supposed to rotate within a few positions anyway so perhaps not a big problem. At my previous shops, our business managers have rarely been locals.