Like Tree13Likes

Looking for advice teaching in Hong Kong

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Smile Looking for advice teaching in Hong Kong

My background is a bit confusing so let me explain a little. I am an American citizen born in America, but I have only lived in America the last 10 years. The rest I lived in Hong Kong with my family so I am a Hong Kong permanent resident as well. I studied in both local and international schools in Hong Kong before pursuing college in America. I speak Cantonese and English fluently with Mandarin just a little behind.

I am considering moving to Hong Kong and pursing a career in education. I graduated with a bachelors in mathematics so I am thinking of teaching / tutoring math or English. Where would I look for more information and what kind of qualification do I need? Also, what's the job market like for teachers or tutors in Hong Kong? Lastly, would it be better for me to apply for work as an American or Hong Kong citizen?

Any information and suggestions would be appreciated. Many thanks and blessings to you!

Last edited by buren.; 05-02-2018 at 03:56 PM.

You should stress you are a HK PR and can speak Cantonese when applying for all jobs in Hong Kong. Not sure if they are looking for fluent Chinese readers as well. Reading and writing Chinese needed if the school teaches in Cantonese. Your american nationality is not important to them, it is your education and work experience in HK and or overseas they may want to know more. And they expect you to know HK maths is usually harder than US maths before college education.

Are you a recent graduate or have experience in other industries?

This is what schools maybe actually looking for. Sometimes they need new young graduates, sometimes teachers with experience, sometimes applicants with non teaching experience.