Like Tree35Likes

EDB Net scheme teachers

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

EDB Net scheme teachers

Hi all,

Im a primary school teacher on the NET scheme, and Ive just taken up my first ever post for this coming year, which Im delighted about.

Im a complete newbie; having not yet taken a PGCE (hoping to in two years), although Im educated to Masters level, have a CELTA, and a lot of experience behind me. Still, the Hong Kong EDB experience will be completely new to me and I must say that although Im excited I am quite daunted at the same time.

I have now made myself a member of the NET scheme meetup, and joined the official website- both look super helpful and Im really looking forward to meeting everyone.

What Im mostly looking for on this post is a little bit of guidance, if someone out there cares to share any knowledge or words of wisdom to a newcomer! I would like to prepare myself before term starts with knowledge of the curriculum and get together some resources before the official start date. At the moment I dont really know where to start. I want to get my head around the structure and into the nitty gritty of the planning from some people on the know. As NET teachers employed by the EDB are on their own in the schools, its hard to find someone to turn to!

If anyone one out there wants to talk online or meet up to, Id really like to connect with some experienced people!

Hi,I may have to move to Hong Kong in the near future. I'm from the UK and have a bachelors degree. Would I possibly be able to get accepted by the NET scheme without a TEFL/CELTA cert?

Quote Originally Posted by JBishop90:
    Hi,I may have to move to Hong Kong in the near future. I'm from the UK and have a bachelors degree. Would I possibly be able to get accepted by the NET scheme without a TEFL/CELTA cert?
    No.

You will also need to show you had some teaching practicum for your TEFL cert.