Like Tree13Likes
  • 3 Post By Beanieskis
  • 2 Post By JAherbert
  • 1 Post By freeier

Easier to find a role whilst on a sabbatical or possible to do so whilst unemployed?

Closed Thread

Easier to find a role whilst on a sabbatical or possible to do so whilst unemployed?

Hi All,

First post!

I'll be moving to HK next year on a partner/spousal visa (secured through my partner's recent move to a company based there).

I'm currently in the Financial Services industry with approx. 4.5 years experience in product management (consumer side of the organisation, not investment), alongside some accredited courses in marketing, e-commerce and agile / scrum. I did an English Literature degree (upper 2:1) and secured a Graduate Scheme.

I would like to resign in Jan with a month's notice period and move to HK by mid-end Feb. My partner has been in HK for 1 month so far and spoken to people who have told him it'll be easier for me to find a role whilst on a sabbatical from my current employer - so whilst no income i'm technically 'employed' by them still.

A sabbatical would require 6 months notice to my current employer meaning the soonest I could move is April (provide notice now/they take 2-3 weeks to grant the time off). I would prefer not to do this, as a) i'm not particularly enjoying my current role and this extends it from working another 3 months to another 6 months and b) I'm away from my partner for longer, however if this is beneficial in securing me a role in HK I can see why I should do it.

Does anyone have a view on experience on the ease of finding employment whilst on a sabbatical (so can say i'm currently working for xyz) vs. I left my job at xyz 2/3 months ago to move here and I'm looking for a job?

Thank you for any help!

Agreed. Just be careful how you frame your partner's move here when applying for jobs. If it's a secondment don't mention that, a new employer who invests in you will want to know you're committed to HK for the medium term.