Like Tree2Likes

Fresh Grad Looking For Career Advice (Politics vs. Law Enforcement)

Closed Thread

Cool Fresh Grad Looking For Career Advice (Politics vs. Law Enforcement)

Hello all, I am a fresh grad from top tier (>25) University that has interest in pursuing a career in Hong Kong. I am in the rough currently in choosing between career paths as well as whether I should move back to Hong Kong or not. Particularly, I am interested in EO as well as police inspector as my top choices, but like many others there are always defining pros/cons for each.

For example, I would consider myself a less "hands on" person but with high critical analytic skills in team based environments (work better with people than alone). As a good thinking, the idea of being in an actionable team that is apart from solely planning, highly intrigues me as well. My grades are not high enough to apply straight for the AO position, but I'm wondering if EO alone could allow me rise up in the political ladder. They call it a "metal rice bowl" for a reason.

High salary is good, but it is not a determinate factor between the two. On the other hand, it seems that the inspector role may be highly stressful with longer hours than government office jobs (average morality age is higher than the average person) and has an odd promotion pattern (some say you may be stuck as inspector forever if you don't crack cases).

I would love to have a rundown for both cases to determine my path based on my personality and skillsets. If anyone of you guys have experiences or know anyone working as EO/Inspector, it would be very helpful to share some of their stories here!

Thanks in advance!

Political ladder or career ladder? Two different things.

Have any of your ex classmates ended up on either of those two paths?