Like Tree103Likes

Unplanned pregnancy for young HK teacher

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Unplanned pregnancy for young HK teacher

Hi,

Need some advice as per the captioned title suggests.

I'm a fresh graduate and just started my first year of teaching in Hong Kong. Also just found out around a week ago that I have been pregnant with my first child since October 2018, meaning I am approaching 20 weeks now. Although it is unplanned, I've decided to continue with the pregnancy.

However, the school I work for is strictly religious and belongs to the Band 1 category. As a young (I'm in my early 20's) and unmarried teacher, I understand the repercussions to come for me in the near future if I continue working for the school. I also understand that it is very irresponsible on my end and it really devastates me to have to cause trouble for the school.

With this, I've decided that I will be resigning early (contract ends on Aug. this year) and will be giving my one month's notice next week. I'm unsure and feeling quite anxious with what my employer will decide on.

I would appreciate any advice/insight on what I should do to ease the resignation process. Also would like to know if I'll have to pay as form of liquidated damages to the school (I'm a HK resident). Thanks

Why not to talk to the principle? I suspect even religious people get pregnant occasionally, maybe they'll understand and you will be able to work more, if that's what you would like.

Congratulations

Quote Originally Posted by HKTeacherInNeed:
    It is an unplanned pregnancy.

However, the school I work for is strictly religious and belongs to the Band 1 category. As a young (I'm in my early 20's) and unmarried teacher, I understand the repercussions to come for me in the near future if I continue working for the school.
    Many many pregnancies are unplanned it really is not that unusual.