Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Aramis
  • 1 Post By Aramis
  • 1 Post By Cornmeal

Master of Education (Science) & Teaching qualification in Hong Kong

Closed Thread

Hello everyone, Im a fresh graduate of bachelor of science.
    Recently I was offered full time Master of Education program from HKU.
    If I complete this program, I will have MEd and IB teaching certificate (specifically on science education)
    However, I don't have PGDE/PGCE/ or any other degree/ certificate that would help be have a teaching license.

So my question is, do you think Bachelor of Science + Master of Education + IB Teaching certificate is enough for me to find a teaching job in Hong Kong schools? (Probably international schools)

Or do you think I should still look for valid teaching license like PGDE?
    I heard PGDE is only useful in HK. Do you suggest any other qualifications? I don't know what kind of qualifications international schools in other countries ask for.

I'm sorry if I'm asking basic questions, I just recently decided to become a teacher so I don't have much information with me. Please help!

(I made a same posting on "Education" category but posting one more over here just in case!)

Hello everyone, Im a fresh graduate of bachelor of science.

Recently I was offered full time Master of Education program from HKU.
    If I complete this program, I will have MEd and IB teaching certificate (specifically on science education)
    However, I don't have PGDE/PGCE/ or any other degree/ certificate that would help be have a teaching license.

So my question is, do you think Bachelor of Science + Master of Education + IB Teaching certificate is enough for me to find a teaching job in Hong Kong schools? (Probably international schools)

Or do you think I should still look for valid teaching license like PGDE?