Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By RMDNC

Starting your own consulting firm in HK

Closed Thread

Starting your own consulting firm in HK

As some of you may have done it before, I am thinking of starting my own business consulting practice/firm in HK. My background is in international trade, supply chain, customs etc., which involves advising companies on import duties, reducing their tax cost, indirect tax (customs, VAT/GST etc.) planning, sourcing and sale options from Asia to US/EU etc. (BREXIT, Tradewar, TPP/CPTPP etc. etc.).

Over the years, I've covered most of Asian countries for my clients involved in manufacturing, supply chain, factory setup etc. Those were multi-nationals which came to the accounting/consulting firm brands. There's no growth in my current role, and I've thought about moving to either Vietnam or South Korea with another firm. I have previous experience working in Vietnam which did not go well due to infighting between the local seniors, me being an 'outsider' couldn't do much about it. As bad and frustrating as it was, I did manage to bring in considerable work, but ultimately decided to leave. The same firm has reached out again asking me to reconsider.