Like Tree16Likes
  • 2 Post By dengxi
  • 2 Post By HK_Katherine
  • 1 Post By hairish001
  • 2 Post By Cminds
  • 1 Post By shri
  • 1 Post By bdw

Which visa is better to get a new job in Hong Kong - Dependent visa or Work visa

Closed Thread

Which visa is better to get a new job in Hong Kong - Dependent visa or Work visa

Hi All,

Hope you are doing well.

Request you to provide your suggestion on the below.

I have been working in Hong Kong since 2016. My work visa will expire in April 2021. My employer is asking me to travel back to India now as there are no new projects in HK. I want to stay in HK and find a new job. My spouse started working on a dependent visa earlier in 2016. Recently her employer sponsored her to convert her dependent visa to a work visa.

Now we both have a work visa. My visa will expire in April 2021 whereas her visa will expire in 2023. I have two options now given below.

Option 1. I may get dependent visa (My wife being sponsor)
    Option 2. I may get my work visa extended for next 3 years with my current employer

Q1: Which of the above two options is better if I want to find a new job in Hong Kong?
    Q2: Is possibility of getting a job on a dependent visa more than a work visa ?
    Q3: If I go with option 2 and get my work visa extended through my employer. Can my work visa be converted to a dependent visa if I do not find a job in 3 months?

Q4. It will be quite helpful if anyone can share pros and cons of the above two options.

Thank you all in advance.

sandeep726 likes this.

Dependent visa without a doubt.

sandeep726 and hairish001 like this.