Like Tree4Likes

Nursery/Preschool teacher

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Nursery/Preschool teacher

Hey everyone,

what are the chances of me finding a decent job if I hold a Bachelor of Teaching (Early Childhood) from New Zealand and have 5 years teaching experience (3 while studying 2 while fully qualified) in ages 3 months to 6 years.

I also hold a 1 year Montessori diploma and 1.5 years experience in a Montessori setting.

I am currently a curriculum leader in my classroom at my current job.

Is this enough to gain me a decent teaching job in HK?

Thanks for your advice

Pretty good i'd say. Most international schools only require a degree and 2 years experience. My wife was Principal of a British Curriculum Kindergarten and they had plenty of teachers with similar backgrounds to yours.

ChloeNZ likes this.

For this coming school year most of the international/ ESF/ DSS schools will have done their hiring already.

Are you thinking of moving here independently, or as a trailing spouse on a dependent visa?

If the latter, you will have no trouble getting your foot in the door as a TA/ EA even if a "proper" teaching position doesn't open up immediately.

If moving independently, the next international school that will be hiring is the Australian - it runs on the southern hemisphere school year. I've been out of the Ed Biz for some years now so don't know what the market is like at present, but you'd certainly be in with a chance.

I would be moving with my husband and two primary aged children.
    My husband would be our main income and mine would essentially be to cover the kids tuition costs and be a bit of extra money for us for rent.

I would be happy with anything that would pay around 15-20k I think but I don't really know what to expect yet in terms of teachers pay just want a general idea of what I should be expecting.