Like Tree68Likes

School isn't letting me take contract home

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

School isn't letting me take contract home

I am a new teacher who has just finished up my PGCE in the UK and have returned to Hong Kong to look for a full-time teaching position. I got a job offer from a local school but when I asked if I could take the contract away to look it over and make sure everything was okay for me, the HR manager gave a very adamant 'No'.

I have a friend who works at a local school who said this is normal and another friend who works in an international school who is it is not normal at all. I personally find it a bit suspicious but I have no experience in this matter.

Looking for some opinions on what I should do and whether this is normal.

No school experience, but in a general employment sense I would run a mile. NOT normal at all.

Beanieskis likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by Kirblondie:
    I am a new teacher who has just finished up my PGCE in the UK and have returned to Hong Kong to look for a full-time teaching position. I got a job offer from a local school but when I asked if I could take the contract away to look it over and make sure everything was okay for me, the HR manager gave a very adamant 'No'.

I have a friend who works at a local school who said this is normal and another friend who works in an international school who is it is not normal at all. I personally find it a bit suspicious but I have no experience in this matter.

Looking for some opinions on what I should do and whether this is normal.
    You shouldn't sign it unless you have a chance to give it a thorough read.
    Natfixit, spode and MatthieuTofu like this.

Ask for a photocopy?