Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By GuruA
  • 2 Post By Peaky

Annual salary raise? What is customary in HK?

Annual salary raise? What is customary in HK?

Dear Expats,
    A year ago, I got a raise in salary.
    My friend told me its very common in Hong Kong to get a raise in salary each year, so I should ask for another raise. I was wondering whats customary in Hong Kong.

Is it common in Hong Kong to get/ask for a raise in salary each year (annually)?

If you work for a large corporation, raise at least equal to inflation could be expected and shouldn't need you to prompt.

If working for a smaller outfit, if it isn't mentioned explicitly I would assume you will need to be proactive. Certainly wouldn't be inappropriate to ask to at least keep pace with CPI.

I'm a contractor for a global bank...it's been 4 years in HK now and no increments forthcoming...but I'm fairly happy with the rate I'm getting given the time I need to put in to get it

Contractors often treated differently by HR/Finance and for budgeting purposes. Not much in the way of performance review etc, I would guess?

Maybe you don't want to rock the boat, but I would strongly suspect no one would object of you asked for a raise to match with inflation (though obviously I don't know your boss or organisation).

Good luck sir...

Quote Originally Posted by MrSapSap:
    Contractors often treated differently by HR/Finance and for budgeting purposes. Not much in the way of performance review etc, I would guess?

Maybe you don't want to rock the boat, but I would strongly suspect no one would object of you asked for a raise to match with inflation (though obviously I don't know your boss or organisation).

Good luck sir...
    Thanks for the advice.

The contract renewal is the performance review