Can't find a job in HK.. time to go back?

Closed Thread

Can't find a job in HK.. time to go back?

Hi everyone, my first post here

I'm a fresh grad with a BBA degree. I moved to Hong kong late November from Canada for a long vacation, also to look for a job. I'm currently living at my cousins place. I want to look for a job in the banking/finance sector, but no luck yet. I think I came back at the wrong time.

So far, all I did was send in resumes to the job agencies for a month or so. But didn't hear much from them. Some of them said they dont recruit fresh grads. However, I did get many calls from insurance companies like prudential, aia, manulife, but I wasn't interested in being a sales agent.

So can anyone give me some insights on how overseas fresh grads look for jobs in hk sucessfully in the finance sector?? I think I have to go back to Canada if I'm still jobless for a another month or so.

btw.. I can speak cantonese, but I can't read or write it. I also have a Hk Id card, I immigrated to Canada when I was very young.

any insight would be greatly appreciated.

As far as I know, the bigger names in finance recruit directly from universities, following preset timetables. i.e. graduation times around May/June(?) I don't think their HR processes are going to be set up for people in your situation.

The only ways in I can think of are either personal contacts, or if you have a skill that marks you out from the rest of the HK student population. The latter is how I landed my first job at one of the banks- I happened to have an extremely rare combination of legacy tech skills gathered from my personal studies and a gap year.

why don't you take any job for the time being, the finiancal tsunami is affecting heavily banking/finance sector, but it will be better position sooner or later