moving to hong kong for IBank opportunities?

moving to hong kong for IBank opportunities?

Hi everyone,
    My name is Richard. I am an undergrad student in an above average university in America, who is about to graduate with double degrees in finance and economics in totally 3 years of study. I want to get in to Investment Banking. I am fluent in Cantonese, Mandarin and English. I have good grades especially in major courses. my great drawback is i don't have any internship. I wonder if hong kong will be a better location for me to breaking into the field for following reasons.1) I'll have local advantage (i am kinda from hong kong, i have hong kong ID and passport although i've never really lived in hong kong). 2) My language skills will be more appreciated in Hong Kong. 3) hong kong is slightly less competitive comparing to wall street.
    what do you think? please give me some advice, any kinda of input will be appreciated. furthermore, people suggested me to get an internship in the summer before i graduate.i don't want to because then i can't graduate in 3 years. it will be 3.5 years instead. then again, i really like investment banking. can you give me a list of small investment banks in hong kong? i know the big ones.
    have a good weekend and a happy Martin Luther King holiday,
    Richard

Maybe you've been studying too hard in your attempt to graduate in 3 years but maybe you should Google "financial tsunami" or "lehman brothers".

dont worry obama's got a stimulus that's gonna make 4 million jobs. Here's the lehman brother's finance crews next gig:

Last edited by beeph; 19-01-2009 at 02:38 PM.

I (Chinese American) joined an ibank in HK last August via the grad program (mba) and I've realized a few things that can help you clarify working for an ibank in hk.