Teaching English courses and jobs

Closed Thread

Teaching English courses and jobs

hi there

I'm thinking of doing a course so i can teach English as a second language.

Not having much joy in finding a job in my own field, emploeyers don't bother to even send reject letters to spec letters here, so I thought maybe I could gain another skill.

As the course isn't cheap I'd really welcome comments from people who have done a similar one - how easy is it to get decent work afterwards, will the employers sponsor you, is it possible to do some teaching plus run another career alongside? does the course really equip you to teach?

Positive and negative comments welcome as I'd like to be able to recoup the course costs obviously.

many thanks and enjoy the sun

First, do you have a degree?

Have you thought about teaching in China?

I have a Bachelor of Arts Degree but no TEOSL or TEFL certificate though. I have been teaching English in China for four years now.

You can go to China first to find a teaching job. After you have several years under your belt, you can return back to HK. You can find a job in your own field at that time or continue to teach in HK. There are just too many expats in HK now. If you have the experience, they will look twice.

I haven't done the courses but learning the course doesn't really help you too much in China though. The students are different. The students need to speak out more, but most out there do not teach you that though.

It is because the courses are taught for the purpose of teaching a second language in other countries besides China. Each country is different in terms of the students. You can learn something from the course but it might be different on what you need to teach according to the country you go to though.

Anyway, I'm teaching in China now. I am a Chinese Canadian. The only teacher hired as a foreigner that looks Chinese.