English Teaching Jobs

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

English Teaching Jobs

Also posted this in Education section but thought I might be more likely to get a response here.

Hi

I have a few questions on the same topic, I wonder if anyone can help.

My background is:

Masters degree in English from a British uni
    Experience teaching and coaching children and adults in sport (skiing)

My next steps are:
    Online TEFL course with i-to-i
    "Teach and Earn" programme with Real Gap this summer - this includes 4 weeks practical training in teaching English in Guilin and basic Mandarin, followed by help getting a job in China where I plan to work for 2 months.

So when I come to HK I will have the above qualifications and experience. Questions are:

How easy will it be to find a job?
    Will I be able to get a sponsored visa?
    If I can't get a visa and decided for example to enrol on a course myself so I could get a student visa, is part time work permitted?
    What is the likely pay?

Thanks

so far as i know, no work is allowed if you are on a student visa. but, i could be wrong on that.

Within 2 days I sent not more than 10 CVs and got 2 replies. I will be singing a contract early next week. Not sure I was lucky, so it's indeed very easy to find a job.

You have to ask if the potential employer would be willing to sponsor your visa. some see it as a natural thing (if they want a foreigner to work for them, they have to help them to do it legally), some want you to have a working visa first.

If you have a student visa, you are not allowed to get paid or unpaid work.

When I was checking job ads, a teacher's pay was usually ~20K/month.

Quote Originally Posted by Ling_Ling:
    some want you to have a working visa first.
    which of course is impossible... a work visa is tied to a specific job. it would be impossible for you to have a work visa without being sponsored by the company employing you

Quote Originally Posted by carang: