Jobs in the aviation industry

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Jobs in the aviation industry

I'm a Dutch Aerospace Engineering graduate and recently relocated to HK to explore job opportunities in the aviation sector in the Greater China region. I'm interested in whether there are any people with a similar background who have successfully pursued job opportunities here (and maybe have some useful advice to share?).
    I've been having a hard time finding interesting opportunities (engineering, planning, operations) and am broadening my search to include general logistics as well.
    I really appreciate any helpful advice.

No experience? No Chinese? No visa? No chance, I would say.

I'm proficient in both Mandarin and Korean. Have done industry internships in The Netherlands and Korea and currently working part time for a aviation consulting firm. No visa though.

Quote Originally Posted by hwesseling:
    I'm proficient in both Mandarin and Korean. Have done industry internships in The Netherlands and Korea and currently working part time for a aviation consulting firm. No visa though.
    Let me get this right.....you're working here without a visa?

I'm not working here in HK. Am visiting as a tourist.

Quote Originally Posted by hwesseling:
    OK - fair enough. Some chance then. But even then, the most common way for people to come here as an expat (excluding English teachers) is on an internal transfer with a multinational from another country (normally their home one). Do you not have options down that route? A year for, say, Airbus, in Europe then transfer out to Asia?

How about Airport Authority, the maintenance firms, various airlines etc etc? I'd have thought pretty much everyone would have a significant presence in HK given the amount of pax and cargo that go through CLK.